Pinellas County · Waterfront comparison

Gulf-front vs. Intracoastal in Pinellas County: the rules change

Beach lines and nourishment on one side, county, state and federal approvals for seawalls, docks and dredging on the other

Yes. Gulf-front property in Pinellas County turns largely on state beach rules: the coastal construction control line, mean high water and, where one is recorded, an erosion control line. Intracoastal, bay and canal property turns on county, state and federal approvals for seawalls, docks and dredging. FEMA flood zones follow wave-height definitions on both sides, so check each parcel.

In short: Gulf-front property in Pinellas County turns on state beach lines and nourishment, while Intracoastal and canal property turns on county, state and federal shoreline approvals.

A reference guide, not legal, tax, insurance or engineering advice. Updated October 2026.

Side by side

How do Gulf-front and Intracoastal ownership differ in Pinellas County?

The two shores sit on opposite sides of the same barrier islands, but different agencies, lines and maps apply. The table below summarizes what official sources say; each cell is general, and every line, zone and permit is parcel-specific.

Gulf-front and Intracoastal / bay / canal shores compared, from state statutes, Pinellas County, FEMA, FWC and NOAA pages checked October 9, 2026.
TopicGulf-frontIntracoastal, bay or canalSource
What the water isThe open Gulf shoreline of the barrier islands. The county says Sand Key extends from Clearwater Pass to John’s Pass and counts 35 miles of Pinellas beaches. DEP describes the control line program as covering sandy beaches that front the Gulf, the Atlantic Ocean and the Straits of FloridaBoca Ciega Bay, Clearwater Harbor, canals and the federal Intracoastal Waterway. NOAA’s Coast Pilot describes the waterway as running south of the Pinellas Peninsula into Boca Ciega Bay and on through The Narrows to Clearwater Harbor. State law places the Boca Ciega Bay preserve boundary along the “inner shoreline” of Long Key, Treasure Island and Sand Key. Whether a lot fronts the federal channel, open bay or a canal is a parcel questionNotes 6, 7, 10, 12
Controlling lines and mapsThe coastal construction control line (DEP sets it county by county along sand beaches); the line of mean high water; a 50-foot construction limit measured from mean high water on the Gulf and Atlantic coast; and, where a beach restoration project has recorded one, an erosion control lineThe mean high-water line still marks the shore, and the Boca Ciega Bay preserve boundary follows it. The 50-foot limit’s text leaves out bays, inlets, rivers, bayous, creeks, passes and the like. Locally, the county offers a Coastal Environmental Resource Zone Map for docks and dredge-and-fill review, and the preserve statute refers to established bulkhead linesNotes 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 10
Who approves shoreline workDEP: unless exempt, a permit for construction and excavation seaward of the control line; a separate coastal construction permit under s. 161.041 for certain shore work; waivers and variances exist for the 50-foot limitPinellas County’s Water and Navigation section for docks, marinas, seawalls, riprap, tie poles and all dredging or filling in county waters (cities and unincorporated areas alike), plus a state environmental permit and submerged-land authorization, a federal layer for some work, and city reviewNotes 1, 2, 3, 6, 9, 11
Beach and bay-bottom ownershipIn beach restoration areas the state’s Board of Trustees must fix the line of mean high water. Where an erosion control line is recorded, title seaward of it is vested in the state and title landward of it in the riparian upland owners. Under the 2024 text of s. 161.57, a seller of property partly or totally seaward of the control line must give a written coastal disclosureWritten authorization is required to use state-owned submerged land. The Boca Ciega Bay preserve includes submerged bottom lands owned by the state, the water column upon them and state-owned islands; privately held land or submerged land within established bulkhead lines is treated as outside the preserve, and the statute says the preserve does not infringe upland owners’ riparian rightsNotes 4, 5, 10, 11
Flood zone pattern (what the definitions mean)VE is FEMA’s coastal high hazard area, where waves of 3 feet or higher are expected in the 1% annual-chance flood. The federal definition runs from offshore to the inland limit of a primary frontal dune along an open coast. FEMA’s Coastal A Zone concept covers the part of the coastal flood area where wave heights may be 1.5 to 3 feet in a base floodAE covers areas with at least a 1% annual chance of flooding where expected waves are under 3 feet. The federal coastal-high-hazard definition also reaches “any other area subject to high velocity wave action from storms,” so the zone comes from the FEMA map for the parcel, not from the name of the waterNotes 14, 15
Maintenance exposureBeach erosion and nourishment cycles: the county says Sand Key’s shoreline “continues eroding toward the seawall” without cyclic nourishment, and federal cost-sharing depends on compliant easements. Sea turtle lighting guidance centers on nesting and hatching season, which the county gives as May 1 through October 31Upkeep of seawalls, docks and lifts, each under its own approvals. NOAA says federal channels “may shoal several feet in places between maintenance dredgings,” and any dredging or filling in county waters needs a county permit. Manatee speed rules are enforceable once signs are postedNotes 7, 8, 9, 12, 13
Insurance questions to askIs the building seaward of the control line? Which flood zone and elevation certificate is the quote based on? Is flood covered apart from the homeowners policy? How soon does a new flood policy take effect?The same flood questions, plus: are the seawall, dock and boat lift covered, limited or excluded, and under what conditions? Does the policy treat wave or surge damage differently from rising water?Notes 15, 16

Zone letters, line positions and permit requirements are parcel-specific. The insurance row lists questions to ask, not statements about any policy. FloodSmart says most homeowners insurance does not cover flood damage, and Pinellas County says a new flood policy takes 30 days to take effect (Notes 15, 16).

Gulf-front lines

Where do the Gulf-front boundary lines come from?

Mean high water. Chapter 177 defines mean high water as “the average height of the high waters over a 19-year period” and the mean high-water line as “the intersection of the tidal plane of mean high water with the shore” (Note 4). That shoreline is the reference for several other rules below.

Erosion control line. Where the county restores or nourishes a beach, Florida’s policy is to fix the boundary between state sovereignty lands and the adjacent uplands, and the Board of Trustees must establish the line of mean high water before construction begins (Note 4). After an erosion control line is recorded, title seaward of it “shall be deemed to be vested in the state by right of its sovereignty” and title landward of it “shall be vested in the riparian upland owners” (Note 4). The county’s 2026 easement page also refers to “the Erosion Control Line” (Note 7). This guide did not confirm which Pinellas segments have a recorded line; that is a survey and records question.

Coastal construction control line (CCCL). The statute directs DEP to establish control lines on a county basis along the state’s sand beaches, only after an engineering study and topographic survey and a public hearing (Note 1). DEP says the line defines the part of the beach and dune system subject to severe fluctuations in a 100-year storm event, and that unless exempt, a DEP permit is required for construction and excavation seaward of it (Note 6). The statute lists exemptions, including repair or maintenance of an existing structure within its existing foundation (with stated exclusions) and structures that existed or were under construction before the line was set and are not materially altered (Note 1). To check whether a project is seaward of the line, DEP offers its Map Direct tool, and Pinellas County publishes its own clickable map (Note 6). The seller’s disclosure rules below refer to an affidavit or a survey (Note 5).

The 50-foot limit. Section 161.052(1) bars excavation or construction of structures “within 50 feet of the line of mean high water at any riparian coastal location” fronting the Gulf of America or the Atlantic coast shoreline, and its text leaves out bays, inlets, rivers, bayous, creeks, passes and the like (Note 2). It allows waivers and variances and exempts repair of an existing structure within its existing foundation, though that exemption specifically excludes seawalls (Note 2). Sources frame its reach differently: DEP’s CCCL page, in describing sandy pocket beaches in counties without an established control line, says construction is prohibited within 50 feet of mean high water except by waiver or variance, while the part of the statute we read does not tie the rule to counties without a line (Notes 2, 6). Ask DEP how the rule applies to a specific parcel.

Coastal disclosure. For an interest in real property located partly or totally seaward of the control line, the seller must give the purchaser a written disclosure at or before signing the contract. Unless the purchaser waives it in writing, the seller must also provide an affidavit or survey showing where the line lies on the property, at or before closing (Note 5). We read the 2024 edition of section 161.57 and could not open the 2026 edition; confirm the current text.

For Atlantic and Gulf control-line diligence in general, see ABODE’s Florida coastal control line and flood due diligence guide.

Gulf-front programs

What do Pinellas County’s beach nourishment and sea turtle pages say?

Two programs touch Gulf-front owners more than bay-side owners: county and federal beach nourishment, and sea turtle lighting.

  • Scope. The county says Pinellas has 35 miles of beaches, 12 of which are regularly nourished by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and the county. Active projects are Sand Key, Treasure Island and Long Key (Note 7).
  • Easements. The county says construction easements from beach-front owners “are still needed for 100% of the properties” in the projects and that, as of May 2026, 70% of Sand Key properties had signed compliant easements. In 2023 the Corps found Treasure Island and Upham Beach segments lacked compliant easements and cancelled the scheduled nourishment. Temporary 2024 easements are valid only until December 31, 2029 and are not compliant for federal funding (Note 7).
  • Public access. The county describes a 2026 agreement under which public use can be provided through public use ordinances rather than easement language, and applies to the sandy beach, not the vegetated dune (Note 7).
  • Pages differ in age. The county’s Treasure Island and Long Key page says Pass-a-Grille nourishment “is expected to occur in summer 2024” and lists Sunshine, Sunset and Upham beaches as on hold; that expectation has passed, so the page appears out of date. The Sand Key page says the Sand Key project was last fully nourished in 2012, with a 2018 partial nourishment “but with gaps.” The easement page was last modified June 8, 2026. Ask the county about the status of a specific segment (Note 7).
  • Lighting. The county gives nesting and hatching season as May 1 through October 31 and says 12 of 13 barrier island municipalities have light ordinances; it does not name them. FWC’s guidance calls for low, shielded, long-wavelength (560 nm or greater) fixtures, and says state CCCL and ERP permitting programs require owners to avoid and minimize lighting impacts. The control-line statute lets DEP condition the nature, timing and sequence of permitted construction to protect nesting sea turtles (Notes 1, 8).

Nourishment, easements and ordinances change. Ask the city and the county which apply to the parcel, and whether an easement is recorded against it.

Intracoastal and canal shorelines

Who approves seawalls, docks, lifts and dredging on the bay side?

More than one body can be involved in a single dock or seawall. The sources below do not agree on every name, and we say where.

Bay-side and canal structures: what county, state, federal, NOAA and FWC pages say. Thresholds and forms change; confirm with each agency.
Structure or issueWhat the sources sayWhat to confirmSource
Seawalls, riprap, docks, marinas, tie poles, dredge and fillPinellas County says these require permits through its Water and Navigation section, “in the cities and unincorporated areas.” Projects are reviewed for consistency with the Pinellas County Water and Navigation Code, and the county provides a Coastal Environmental Resource Zone MapWhether the lot is in a mapped zone; permit and final records for each existing structureNote 9
Boat liftsThe county’s list of permitted projects does not name boat lifts. Clearwater’s checklist says Marine and Dock Permits “do not cover boat lifts, which require a building permit and additional documentation”Which office permits lifts in the city involved, and the permit record for an existing liftNote 9
Name of the county bodyThe county’s docks page and permit-application page say “Water and Navigation section” and do not use “Authority.” Clearwater’s page says “Water and Navigation Control Authority,” and s. 258.396 (2026) still mentions the Authority. A 2006 act (ch. 2006-322, effective January 1, 2007) abolished the Authority, converted its special laws into county ordinances and transferred its assets and liabilities to the county. Sources therefore differ in namingUse the county’s current permitting page; ask the county which code and office controlNotes 9, 10
State environmental permitDEP and the water management districts run the Environmental Resource Permit (ERP) program under Chapter 62-330, F.A.C. DEP’s 2023 presentation describes exemptions, general permits and individual permits for docks and seawalls, with thresholds set in statute and rule. A DEP dock summary says online self-certification of an exemption is “not available in aquatic preserve”Which category the work falls in under the current rule, and whether the lot is in an aquatic preserveNote 11
State submerged-land authorizationDEP says state sovereign submerged lands include “tidal lands, islands, sand bars, shallow banks,” and lists a letter of consent among the forms of authorization; its dock summary says written authorization to use state-owned submerged land is required. In the Boca Ciega Bay Aquatic Preserve, s. 258.396 limits sales, transfers and leases of sovereignty submerged lands, dredging and filling, and changes to bulkhead linesWhether an authorization covers each structure, what it covers, and whether the bottom is state-owned or private within bulkhead linesNotes 10, 11
Federal approvalDEP’s presentation describes a State Programmatic General Permit that covers categories of work including docks, piers and minor piling-supported structures, under an operating agreement among the Corps, DEP and the water management districts. This guide does not state the Corps’ current requirementsAsk the contractor or engineer which federal authorization, if any, a structure has or needsNote 11
City reviewClearwater’s checklist says dock permits are under the county’s jurisdiction and that the city’s Planning and Development Department must give pre-approval before you apply to the county. Other cities’ procedures were not checkedThe procedure in the city where the lot sitsNote 9
Federal channel depth and shoalingNOAA’s Coast Pilot says the federal project for the Intracoastal Waterway, Caloosahatchee River to Anclote River, “provides for a channel 9 feet deep and 100 feet wide,” and that the channels “may shoal several feet in places between maintenance dredgings.” That describes the federal channel, not the water at a private dockWater depth at the dock at low tide, from a survey or marine contractorNote 12
Bridges on the routeThe Coast Pilot lists fixed bridges across the waterway with vertical clearances at mean high water, such as 75 feet (Belleair Causeway, Mile 131.8), 74 feet (Clearwater Memorial Causeway, Mile 135.9) and 65 feet (Pinellas Bayway, Mile 113.0). The bascule (drawbridge) entries we read show vertical clearances of about 20 to 25 feet.Whether the route from the dock to open water suits the vessel; check current charts and bridge operating rulesNote 12
Manatee and speed zonesFWC says manatee protection rules restrict vessel speed and operation where necessary to protect manatees, are not enforceable until signs are posted, and that where several governments regulate an area the most restrictive rule applies and is posted. FWC’s Tampa Bay guide shows only a small number of zones and says to follow posted signsPosted zones along the route to open water and at the dockNote 13

Dock and seawall approvals are fact-specific. For permit work, ask the city, the county and a licensed marine contractor or engineer which approvals apply.

Both sides

What do flood maps, the 50% rule and evacuation zones mean on either shore?

These tools apply to Gulf-front and bay-side property alike. They answer different questions and should not be mixed up.

FEMA, NFIP and Pinellas County statements about flood zones, elevation certificates, substantial improvement and evacuation zones.
TopicWhat the sources saySource
FEMA zone definitionsFEMA’s fact sheet calls Zone VE a Coastal High Hazard Area where waves of 3 feet or higher are expected, and Zone AE an area with at least a 1% annual chance of flooding where expected waves are under 3 feet. The Limit of Moderate Wave Action (LiMWA) is an informational line that marks the inland limit of the Coastal A Zone, where wave heights are between 1.5 and 3 feet. FEMA says the LiMWA “has no significance for NFIP flood insurance premiums”Note 14
Where zones appearBecause the definitions turn on wave action, the map decides the zone parcel by parcel. The county tells residents to look up a property in the Pinellas County Flood Map Service Center and to find the evacuation zone separatelyNotes 14, 16
Elevation certificateThe county says an elevation certificate details a building’s flood zone and elevation level, is prepared by a licensed surveyor, and can support insurance rate determinations, compliance with local ordinances and flood map change requests. The county says it does not have certificates for buildings constructed earlier, and residents of municipalities should contact their city for flood map informationNote 16
Substantial improvement and substantial damageUnder 44 CFR 59.1, substantial improvement means an improvement whose cost equals or exceeds 50 percent of the structure’s market value before the work; substantial damage uses the same test for restoration cost. FEMA’s quick guide says communities may set a stricter threshold (45% is its example), that only the structure’s value counts, and that local officials make the determination. The county says remodeling that costs about half the building’s original value requires raising the structure above the flood levelNotes 15, 16
Evacuation zonesThe county says evacuations are based on storm surge and tells residents to look up their evacuation zone, which is a separate lookup from the flood zone. It describes Evacuation Zone A as “the lowest and along the coastline”Note 16

A flood zone is a map designation, not a prediction for any one storm. Look up the parcel and request the elevation certificate.

Before you buy or list

What should you verify before you buy or sell Gulf-front or bay-side property?

A short list, roughly in the order a buyer might commission it. Sellers can gather the same items before listing.

Verification checklist for Gulf-front and Intracoastal / bay / canal property in Pinellas County.
CheckWhy it mattersSource
What the lot actually frontsGulf beach, open bay, canal or the federal channel sets which regime applies. Confirm against the legal description and a current surveyNotes 2, 6, 9, 12
Position of the control line, mean high water and any erosion control lineThey decide where a DEP permit is needed and who holds title to the beach. Use DEP Map Direct and the county map, and ask a surveyor for the lines on the survey. The seller’s coastal disclosure and affidavit or survey apply if the property is seaward of the control lineNotes 4, 5, 6
Permits, exemptions and approvals for what is already builtSeaward-of-line work generally needs DEP authorization unless exempt, and repairs within an existing foundation can be exempt. Ask for permits, exemption determinations and final inspectionsNotes 1, 2, 6
Beach nourishment easement statusThe county says easements are needed from beach-front owners. Ask whether an easement is recorded, whether it is perpetual or temporary, and what it says about public useNote 7
Sea turtle lightingThe county says to limit light visible from the beach during nesting season and that most barrier island municipalities have ordinances. Ask the city for its ordinance and any compliance noticesNote 8
Seawall, dock and lift permits, and submerged-land authorizationSeveral approvals can apply to one structure, and the county, state and city may each hold records. Ask for each approval and what it covers, especially in the Boca Ciega Bay preserveNotes 9, 10, 11
Depth, bridges and speed zones to open waterThe federal channel depth does not describe the water at a private dock. Ask for depth at the dock and the route’s bridge clearances and posted zonesNotes 12, 13
Flood zone, elevation certificate and evacuation zoneThe zone and elevation can feed insurance rate determinations and local ordinance compliance; the evacuation zone is a separate surge-based lookupNotes 14, 16
Planned renovation versus the 50% testFederal definitions use a 50 percent of market value test for substantial improvement, a community can set a stricter one, and the county says remodeling costing about half the building’s original value requires raising the structure; the local office decides how it is measuredNotes 15, 16
Insurance quotes before the inspection period endsAsk the agent for flood and homeowners quotes on the actual address and which exclusions apply to the shoreline structuresNotes 15, 16
If it is a condominiumBuilding-level reviews (milestone inspection, reserve study, association budget) are a separate set of documentsSee ABODE’s Pinellas condominium guide

This is a checklist, not advice. Confirm each item with the relevant agency and your attorney, surveyor, insurance agent and engineer.

Limits of this guide

What does this guide not decide?

This guide does not tell you which side of a barrier island suits you, what a property is worth, what insurance will cost, or whether any structure is permitted. It does not interpret the law for a specific parcel and it is not legal, survey, engineering or insurance advice.

It does not state how Pinellas County’s Coastal Code for the Pinellas Gulf Beaches interacts with the state control line. The county’s page describes minimum design and construction standards for structures but does not explain that relationship (Note 6). Ask the county building office and DEP.

It does not set out the Army Corps of Engineers’ current permit requirements, the thresholds in the current DEP rules, or other cities’ dock procedures. Where a source was older or summarized, we say so, and the 2024 edition of s. 161.57 is the one we read. For community context, see ABODE’s pages on Indian Rocks Beach, Madeira Beach, Treasure Island, St. Pete Beach and Clearwater Beach, or the Pinellas County market page.

Working with ABODE

How can an ABODE advisor help with a Gulf-front or bay-side decision?

Tell us which property you are weighing or planning to list. An advisor can help sequence the checks: which survey, elevation certificate, permit records and insurance quotes to ask for first, and which questions to put to the city, county or DEP in writing. We can bring in the surveyor, attorney, insurance agent, marine contractor or engineer you choose.

ABODE represents buyers and sellers. For sellers, that can mean gathering permits, easements and the elevation certificate before listing so buyers’ questions are answered early. This guide is general information, not legal, tax, insurance or engineering advice.

Talk about buying   Talk about selling

Keep reading

Pinellas County

County guide to permitting offices, homestead rules, flood and evacuation lookups, and condo inspections

Madeira Beach

A Gulf Coast barrier-island city with a historic John’s Pass Village and its own building department

Treasure Island

A Pinellas County city between Boca Ciega Bay and the Gulf of Mexico

St. Pete Beach

A Gulf-side barrier-island city with its own building department

Sand Key

Barrier island shared by several governments: who permits and which rules apply where

Indian Shores

Barrier-island town: own building department, flood checks, and a town-stated 25-year milestone interval

Redington Shores

A Gulf Boulevard town with its own Building Department and a townwide flood hazard area.

St. Petersburg

Strong-mayor city, own permitting, 49% flood-repair rule, milestone and historic checks

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Are Gulf-front and Intracoastal property legally different in Pinellas County?

In several ways, yes. Gulf-front property is tied to state beach rules such as the coastal construction control line, mean high water and any recorded erosion control line (Notes 1, 4, 6). Bay and canal property turns more on county, state and federal approvals for seawalls, docks and dredging (Notes 9, 11). Both sides use FEMA flood maps (Note 14). Each parcel still needs its own check.

Does the 50-foot rule apply to canal and bay lots?

Section 161.052(1) refers to riparian coastal locations fronting the Gulf of America or the Atlantic coast shoreline, and its text leaves out bays, inlets, rivers, bayous, creeks, passes and the like (Note 2). DEP’s page describes the rule in the context of counties without an established control line (Note 6), so ask DEP how it applies to a particular parcel.

Who permits a dock or seawall on a Pinellas canal?

Pinellas County’s Water and Navigation section issues permits for docks, seawalls, riprap and dredging in cities and unincorporated areas (Note 9). State environmental and submerged-land authorization and, for some work, a federal authorization can also apply (Note 11), and a city may require its own pre-approval (Note 9).

How do I find out if a property is seaward of the control line?

DEP offers its Map Direct tool to determine whether a project is seaward of the line, and Pinellas County publishes a clickable map (Note 6). Under the 2024 text of s. 161.57, if a property is partly or totally seaward, the seller owes a written disclosure and, unless waived, an affidavit or survey showing the line (Note 5). Confirm the current statute.

Is Gulf-front always in a VE zone and bay-side always AE?

No. FEMA defines VE by expected waves of 3 feet or higher and AE by expected waves under 3 feet, and the federal coastal-high-hazard definition includes any area subject to high-velocity wave action from storms (Notes 14, 15). The FEMA map for the parcel decides the zone.

What does beach nourishment mean for a Gulf-front owner?

Pinellas County says construction easements are needed from beach-front owners in nourishment projects, and describes a 2026 agreement on public use of the sandy beach (Note 7). Ask the county whether an easement is recorded on the parcel and what it says.

Do sea turtle lighting rules apply on the bay side?

The county’s guidance is to limit light visible from the beach during May 1 through October 31, and 12 of 13 barrier island municipalities have light ordinances (Note 8). The ordinances are city-specific, so ask the city whether a bay-side fixture is covered.

Does ABODE represent buyers and sellers of waterfront property?

ABODE International Realty represents buyers and sellers from its Florida office at 801 West Bay Drive, Suite 324, in Largo. An advisor can help organize the surveys, permits and insurance questions in this guide, but the surveyor, attorney, agent and engineer you choose give the advice.

Private consultation

Ask about Gulf-front or bay-side property

Please tell us what you are weighing. An ABODE advisor replies privately. We aim to reply within one business day.

Sources and notes

  1. Florida Statutes § 161.053, Coastal construction and excavation; regulation on county basis (2026). Source for DEP’s county-basis control lines along sand beaches, the study and hearing requirement, permits for work seaward of the line, exemptions and the sea turtle conditioning authority. Checked October 9, 2026.
  2. Florida Statutes § 161.052, Coastal construction and excavation; regulation (2026). Source for the 50-foot limit from mean high water, the omission of bays, inlets, rivers, bayous, creeks and passes, and its waivers and exemptions. The statute’s current text uses the name “Gulf of America.” Checked October 9, 2026.
  3. Florida Statutes § 161.041, Permits required (2026). Source for the DEP coastal construction permit requirement for certain shore work, including structures on sovereignty lands below mean high water. Read through a page summary; confirm the text. Checked October 9, 2026.
  4. Florida Statutes § 161.191, Vesting of title to lands (2026), with §§ 161.141 and 177.27. Source for title seaward and landward of an erosion control line. Section 161.141 (https://m.flsenate.gov/Statutes/161.141) sets the beach restoration boundary policy and the mean high-water line step; section 177.27 (https://m.flsenate.gov/Statutes/177.27) defines mean high water and the mean high-water line. The pages read showed the 2026 edition header for sections 161.191 and 177.27. Checked October 9, 2026.
  5. Florida Statutes § 161.57, Coastal properties disclosure statement (2024 edition). Source for the seller’s written disclosure and the affidavit or survey for property seaward of the control line. The 2026 edition page could not be retrieved, so this is the 2024 text; confirm the current statute. The 2024 edition was opened October 9, 2026.
  6. Florida DEP CCCL program pages and Pinellas County coastal construction control line map. DEP says a permit is required for construction and excavation seaward of the line unless exempt, and describes the 50-foot rule for counties without an established line. DEP’s locate page (https://floridadep.gov/rcp/coastal-construction-control-line/content/locate-coastal-construction-control-line-cccl) offers Map Direct for checking whether a project is seaward of the line. The county page (https://floodmaps.pinellas.gov/pages/coastal-construction-control-line) offers a map and describes a Coastal Code for Pinellas Gulf Beaches. Checked October 9, 2026.
  7. Pinellas County beach nourishment pages: easements, Sand Key and Treasure Island. Source for the 35 miles of beaches, easement figures and public use agreement (page last modified June 8, 2026). Sand Key page: https://pinellas.gov/sand-key-barrier-island/. Treasure Island and Long Key page, which still expects summer 2024 work: https://pinellas.gov/treasure-island-long-key-beach. Checked October 9, 2026.
  8. Pinellas County: Sea Turtle Protection, and FWC: sea turtle lighting. County source for the May 1 through October 31 season and the count of municipalities with ordinances. FWC lighting guidance: https://myfwc.com/wildlifehabitats/wildlife/sea-turtle/lighting/. Checked October 9, 2026.
  9. Pinellas County: Docks / Dredge & Fill, with City of Clearwater marine and dock permit checklist. County source for which projects need permits and its Water and Navigation section; application page: https://pinellas.gov/services/apply-for-a-docks-dredge-and-fill-permit/. Clearwater checklist: https://www.myclearwater.com/Business-Development/Permits-and-Inspections/07-Marine-Dock. Checked October 9, 2026.
  10. Florida Statutes § 258.396, Boca Ciega Bay Aquatic Preserve (2026), and ch. 2006-322 (CS/HB 921). Source for the preserve boundary, included and excluded lands, management limits and riparian rights; read through a page summary. The 2006 act abolishing the Authority: https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2006/921. Checked October 9, 2026.
  11. Florida DEP: Environmental Resource Permitting Program presentation (August 16, 2023) and dock permitting summary. Presentation source for ERP exemptions, submerged-land authorization and the State Programmatic General Permit; thresholds and permit versions change. DEP dock summary (undated): https://floridadep.gov/sites/default/files/SWD_Dock%20Permitting%20in%20Florida-D5_FINAL_0.pdf. Checked October 9, 2026.
  12. NOAA U.S. Coast Pilot 5, Chapter 12 (Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, Caloosahatchee River to Anclote River). Source for the route, the federal project depth and width, shoaling, and bridge clearances at mean high water. The chapter header showed 13 SEP 2026 when read, and the bridge list is the source for the clearances on this page. Not a navigation chart; use current charts. Checked October 9, 2026.
  13. FWC: manatee protection zone markers, and FWC Tampa Bay boating guide marine zones. Source for the rule that manatee zones are not enforceable until posted and that the most restrictive rule applies. Tampa Bay guide: https://gis.myfwc.com/boating_guides/Tampa_Bay/pages/marine_zones.html. Checked October 9, 2026.
  14. FEMA: Using the Limit of Moderate Wave Action (fact sheet, May 2021), with FEMA coastal flood page. Source for VE, AE and LiMWA wave-height definitions. FEMA’s page (https://www.fema.gov/ar/node/502283) says the LiMWA marks the inland limit of the Coastal A Zone and has no significance for NFIP premiums. Checked October 9, 2026.
  15. 44 CFR § 59.1 (NFIP definitions), FEMA Substantial Damage Quick Guide, and FloodSmart. Source for the substantial improvement, substantial damage and coastal high hazard area definitions. FEMA quick guide: https://www.fema.gov/print/pdf/node/656290. FloodSmart: https://www.floodsmart.gov/. Checked October 9, 2026.
  16. Pinellas County flood information, elevation certificate and storm surge pages. Source for flood zone lookup, insurance basics, the county’s remodeling statement, the elevation certificate description and the evacuation-zone lookup. Elevation certificates: https://pinellas.gov/flood-elevation-certificate/. Storm surge and evacuation levels: https://pinellas.gov/storm-surge/. Checked October 9, 2026.