Williamson County
County-wide property tax by city and school-tax district, unincorporated zoning, septic and greenbelt
Williamson County · Community guide
A community in eastern Williamson County with a county village plan and no municipal sewer in the village
Arrington is a community in eastern Williamson County, Tennessee. Wikipedia calls it unincorporated, and the UT-MTAS 2025 list of municipalities does not include it. The county’s plan describes an area of about 25 square miles matching ZIP code 37014 and says municipal sewer is not available in the Village. Confirm a parcel’s jurisdiction with the Property Assessor.
In short: Arrington is a community in eastern Williamson County, Tennessee. The county's 2025 village plan says municipal sewer is not available in the Village; confirm a parcel's jurisdiction and septic records.
Private, strategy-first conversations. Consultation requests do not trigger drip campaigns.
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Legal status | Wikipedia, a secondary source, calls Arrington an unincorporated community near Franklin in Williamson County. The 2025 UT-MTAS list of Tennessee municipalities has no Arrington. The county’s plan calls it “an approximately 25 square mile area of eastern Williamson County,” and the county’s Arrington page does not use the word unincorporated. Confirm a parcel’s jurisdiction on the Property Assessor’s record | Notes 27, 26, 2, 1 |
| Census place | Not verified. No Census place page for Arrington was retrieved, so no population is shown. The Census says its QuickFacts tool covers states, counties and cities and towns of 5,000 or more people | Note 33 |
| ZIP code | The county’s adopted plan (Note 2) says the area’s boundaries “correspond to the 37014 Zip Code.” Wikipedia also lists 37014. The county’s Arrington web page (Note 1) does not state a ZIP code | Notes 2, 27 |
| County plan | Arrington Village Special Area Plan, shown on the county’s plan page as adopted March 20, 2025. The page says the plan is a result of the county’s Comprehensive Land Use Plan adopted in March 2020 | Notes 1, 2 |
| Village study area | The plan’s Village contains 37 parcels on about 325 acres, a small part of the roughly 25-square-mile Arrington area | Note 2 |
| What the plan is | A policy document. The county’s community development director was quoted in a February 2025 news report saying it “doesn’t have teeth” and “it’s not zoning.” New zoning for the Village is a later step | Notes 3, 4 |
| Sewer | The plan says “Municipal sewer service is currently not available in the Village” | Note 2 |
| Water | The plan says the Village is served by the Milcrofton Utility District for domestic water and fire flows | Note 2 |
| Major roads | Murfreesboro Road (SR 96), an arterial that divides the Village; Wilson Pike (SR 252); Cox Road | Note 2 |
| Property tax | No Arrington city property tax appears on the county’s rate pages. The Trustee collects county taxes and taxes for listed cities. Confirm the parcel’s rates with the Trustee | Notes 16, 17 |
For county-wide rules, see the Williamson County guide. Nearby guides: College Grove, Leiper’s Fork and Franklin. See also the College Grove, Arrington and Leiper’s Fork comparison. Adjacency: the county plan says Murfreesboro Road connects drivers to the City of Franklin and Rutherford County, Wilson Pike connects to Brentwood, and Cox Road reaches Horton Highway near the Kirkland community (Note 2). The sources reviewed do not state Arrington’s boundary with any city, so confirm a parcel’s jurisdiction on the Property Assessor’s record.
An area of about 25 square miles with a 37-parcel Village study area, and a county plan that guides rather than regulates (Notes 1, 2).
The county’s plan page says the plan “is not intended to bring about new development” (Note 1). A February 2025 news report adds that one resident objected that the study area leaves out some nearby properties (Note 4).
For land in unincorporated Williamson County, the county says its Zoning Ordinance establishes the districts and its Subdivision Regulations govern subdividing. The county’s Zoning page lists (615) 790-5725 for the Planning offices, and its Build a Home page gives the same number for the Community Development Department (Notes 6, 8, 24). Confirm that a parcel is not inside a city first.
Sources disagree on one point. The county’s Regulations and Plans page lists four special area plans (College Grove, Leiper’s Fork, Grassland and Triune) and a 2007 Comprehensive Land Use Plan and does not mention Arrington. The county’s Arrington page and plan describe an adopted Arrington plan under a Comprehensive Land Use Plan adopted in March 2020, and the plan calls Arrington one of six villages (Notes 1, 2, 3, 6). The Regulations and Plans page appears out of date; confirm the current plan list with county Planning.
| Check | Why it matters here | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Which jurisdiction, and which zoning district | Confirm on the Property Assessor’s record that the parcel is in Williamson County and not inside a city, then ask county Planning for its zoning district and minimum lot size. The plan does not state the Village’s existing zoning, and its plan area is only about 325 acres | Notes 2, 7, 8 |
| Whether the parcel is in the Village plan area | The plan covers a 37-parcel Village, not all of the roughly 25-square-mile Arrington area. Ask whether the parcel is inside the Village and whether a Village zoning district has been adopted | Notes 2, 9 |
| Septic and well records | The plan says municipal sewer is not available in the Village and that individual septic systems are limited on many properties because of a lack of suitable soils. Ask for the septic permit, system type, soils information and service history | Notes 2, 13, 14 |
| Who issues the septic permit | The state’s page says paper applications go to its Division of Water Resources at the appropriate Environmental Field Office, cites TDEC Rule 0400-48-01, and lists Williamson among “contract counties” that may require an additional installer permit. The county’s regulations say its Department of Sewage Disposal Management is empowered to regulate subsurface sewage disposal and that a permit from the Department is required. The two pages describe different offices, so ask which office issued the existing permit and which would issue a new one | Notes 13, 14 |
| Water service | The plan says the Village is served by the Milcrofton Utility District. The district’s own page gives a 94.2-square-mile service area in eastern Williamson County and does not mention Arrington. Ask the utility whether a specific parcel is in its service area and whether a tap exists | Notes 2, 23 |
| Flood status | The plan says all properties on the south side of Murfreesboro Road in the Village are in the 100-year floodplain. Check the address on FEMA’s map service, ask for any elevation certificate, and ask the county Engineering Division, which lists floodplain management among its work. A November 2023 county notice said an updated flood insurance rate map was nearly complete, with a fall 2024 target subject to change; confirm which map is effective now | Notes 2, 11, 12, 15 |
| Land disturbance and drainage | The county Engineering Division issues land disturbance permits after reviewing grading, drainage and erosion control plans, and reviews construction plans for new development | Note 11 |
| Subdividing or adding a dwelling | County Subdivision Regulations apply to dividing land in unincorporated areas, and the plan says new development should only be permitted if essential infrastructure is in place | Notes 2, 6 |
| Road access | The plan names Murfreesboro Road (SR 96) as an arterial, plus Wilson Pike (SR 252) and Cox Road. Ask which road a driveway would use and which agency approves access | Note 2 |
| Tax bill and reappraisal | The County Trustee collects property taxes for the county and listed cities and districts; the Assessor appraises, and residential property is assessed at 25%. The county’s rate document marks 2025, 2021 and 2016 as county-wide reappraisal years. Ask the Trustee which rates apply to the parcel | Notes 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 |
| Greenbelt classification | The Assessor’s office has a Greenbelt Program that assesses agricultural, forest and open space land on present use value. The Comptroller says the program is the Agricultural, Forest and Open Space Land Act, Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 67-5-1001 to 1050, with 15-acre minimums for agricultural and forest land and 3 acres for open space, and describes rollback taxes. The Comptroller’s page gives March 15 for first-time applications while the county’s forms say March 1, so confirm the deadline. Ask the Assessor whether a parcel is classified and what happens on a sale or change of use | Notes 19, 21, 22 |
This is a checklist, not advice. Confirm each item with Williamson County, the utility and your attorney.
| Community | Setting | How it differs |
|---|---|---|
| College Grove | Wikipedia calls it an unincorporated community in Williamson County; the Arrington plan names it among the six villages | The county’s College Grove Village standards are part of the 2013 county Zoning Ordinance, Article 10, Section 10.02:(O). The county’s text amendments page mentions a College Grove Village zoning district in a 2014 correction entry and does not mention Arrington (Notes 2, 9, 28, 30) |
| Leiper’s Fork | Wikipedia calls it an unincorporated village in Williamson County; the Arrington plan names it among the six villages | The county zoning map was amended to establish the Leiper’s Fork Village district on November 13, 2012. Arrington’s plan, adopted March 20, 2025, calls for a district to be developed (Notes 1, 2, 10, 29) |
| Thompson’s Station | Town in Williamson County | A General Law Mayor-Aldermanic town incorporated August 15, 1990, with its own Board of Mayor and Aldermen, Planning Commission and planning and zoning, and a town tax rate of $0.1030 on the county’s 2025 list. No Arrington municipal government or city rate appears in the sources reviewed (Notes 17, 26, 31, 32) |
| Nolensville | Town in Williamson County | Appears on the UT-MTAS municipality list and has a town rate of $0.3400 on the county’s 2025 list that the Trustee collects. Arrington appears on neither list (Notes 17, 26) |
This guide is written for buyers and sellers of higher-value property. On acreage and village-area property, the due diligence is the land: zoning district, septic and well, water service, flood and survey. ABODE International Realty is licensed in Tennessee (firm license 263936) and has an office at 906 Ridgely Rd, Ste D, Murfreesboro, TN 37129, (615) 260-6010. Conversations are private.
County-wide property tax by city and school-tax district, unincorporated zoning, septic and greenbelt
An unincorporated community under county zoning, with private club communities nearby
An unincorporated village with a National Register historic district
Williamson County plans, zoning, septic, water, flood, historic and tax rules, side by side.
A town with its own Land Development Ordinance and transect zoning
Who controls septic, access, zoning, Greenbelt, flood and TVA items on Tennessee acreage
No municipal government for Arrington appears in the sources reviewed. Wikipedia, a secondary source, calls it an unincorporated community in Williamson County, Tennessee (Note 27), and the UT-MTAS 2025 municipal list does not include it (Note 26). The county’s plan describes it as an area of eastern Williamson County whose boundaries match ZIP code 37014 (Note 2). Confirm a specific parcel’s jurisdiction with the Property Assessor.
It is a Williamson County policy plan for the Arrington Village, 37 parcels on about 325 acres, shown on the county’s plan page and the plan’s cover as adopted March 20, 2025. It guides future land use, design and infrastructure but is not itself zoning. The plan calls for a zoning district tailored to the Village (Notes 1, 2, 3, 4).
The county’s adopted plan says municipal sewer service is currently not available in the Village, and that septic systems are limited on many Village properties because of a lack of suitable soils (Note 2). A February 2025 news report quotes a county official saying the sewer facility in Triune will not serve Arrington (Note 4). Ask for septic records on any specific property.
The plan says the Arrington Village is served by the Milcrofton Utility District for domestic water and fire flows (Note 2). The utility’s page describes a 94.2-square-mile service area in eastern Williamson County (Note 23). Confirm availability at a specific parcel with the utility.
It depends on the parcel. The plan says Arrington Creek runs through the Village and that all properties on the south side of Murfreesboro Road are in the 100-year floodplain (Note 2). Look up each address on the FEMA Flood Map Service Center and ask about elevation certificates (Note 15).
The Williamson County Property Assessor appraises property, with residential property assessed at 25% of appraised value, and the County Trustee collects the tax (Notes 16, 18). The county’s 2025 rate document marks 2025, 2021 and 2016 as county-wide reappraisal years (Note 17). Sources differ on the cycle: one county page says the county is on a four-year cycle, and another describes a five-year cycle of four years of on-site review followed by revaluation in the fifth year (Notes 19, 20). Confirm the parcel’s rates and the next reappraisal with the Assessor and Trustee.
ABODE International Realty is licensed in Tennessee (firm license 263936) and has an office in Murfreesboro. Request a consultation to discuss buying or selling property in Arrington.
Please tell us what you are weighing. An ABODE advisor replies privately. We aim to reply within one business day.
Your privacy, your choice. Analytics stays off, and nothing is sent to Google Analytics unless you accept. Advertising cookies are never used on this site.