Pinellas County · Incorporated city

St. Petersburg, Florida

A Pinellas County city with a strong-mayor charter, its own permitting division and a 49% flood-repair rule

St. Petersburg is a city in Pinellas County, Florida, with 258,308 residents at the 2020 Census. Its charter directs a strong-mayor form of government, and its Construction Services and Permitting Division handles building permits. The city applies a 49% rule to flood-zone repairs. It is a different municipality from St. Pete Beach.

In short: St. Petersburg is a Pinellas County city with a strong-mayor charter, its own permitting division and a 49% flood-repair rule; it is separate from St. Pete Beach.

Private, strategy-first conversations. Consultation requests do not trigger drip campaigns.

Overview

St. Petersburg at a glance

St. Petersburg, Florida. Updated .
FactValueSource
LocationPinellas County, Florida. The city’s permitting office is at One 4th Street N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701Notes 4, 5
Population258,308 (2020 Census). Census population estimate for July 1, 2025 (V2025): 264,033Note 1
Land area61.82 square miles (Census QuickFacts, 2020). Total and water area are not stated hereNote 1
Local governmentThe city’s Charter Review Commission page says the Charter directs the city’s “strong mayor form of government” and refers in passing to “the eight Council Members and the Mayor” (council size is not stated outright). The Mayor’s cabinet includes a City AdministratorNotes 2, 3
Building permitsThe city’s Construction Services and Permitting Division. Pinellas County’s directory lists St. Petersburg as its own entry, not under county Building ServicesNotes 4, 5
Flood mapsThe city’s flood page says new FEMA flood maps went into effect on August 24, 2021Note 10
Flood-repair thresholdThe city follows a 49% rule for repair or improvement costs on properties in a Special Flood Hazard AreaNotes 6, 9
Evacuation zonesThe city’s hurricane page says “Much of St. Pete lies in evacuation zones,” which it describes as based on storm surge vulnerabilityNote 9
Condominium milestone inspectionsThe city publishes its own program page. Pinellas County’s milestone page does not list St. Petersburg among the cities it servesNotes 17, 18
Named historic districtsThe city names the Old Southeast Hexagon Block Preservation District as its one overlay district. It established the Mirror Lake Local Historic District by Ordinance 135-HL on December 12, 2024, which it calls its eleventh local historic districtNotes 22, 23

St. Petersburg is not St. Pete Beach. Pinellas County’s building-department directory lists them as separate entries with different addresses, phone numbers and websites: St. Petersburg at One 4th Street N, ZIP 33701, and St. Pete Beach at 155 Corey Hall, ZIP 33706 (Note 5). See the St. Pete Beach guide.

Setting

How is St. Petersburg laid out?

This guide stays with what the city and county publish: the Census size, the city’s flood and evacuation maps, and the two historic designations the city names (Notes 1, 9, 10, 22, 23).

  • The 2020 Census counted 258,308 residents on 61.82 square miles of land (Note 1). Flood, evacuation and permitting answers are specific to each parcel.
  • The city runs a Prepare, St. Pete interactive map. Its flood page describes it as covering flood zones, evacuation zones and crane radius (Notes 9, 10).
  • The city separates two flood layers. FEMA flood zones “inform insurance and building requirements,” and the city’s Stormwater Floodplain “shows areas with a 1% or greater chance of flooding each year due to heavy rainfall.” The city says many areas in its Stormwater Floodplain are not in the FEMA floodplains, and that the Stormwater Floodplain “does not change FEMA designation” (Notes 10, 11).
  • The city’s Stormwater Master Plan page says its modeled stormwater floodplain uses a “100-year 24-hour event with 2050 sea-level projection.” The page says the earlier master plan dates to 1994 and that the city has completed the current Stormwater Master Plan and is implementing projects through its Capital Improvements process (Note 11).
  • A November 7, 2024 St. Pete Catalyst news report quoted the city’s floodplain manager as saying the Special Flood Hazard Area covers roughly 75% of the city. That is a secondary news report of a spoken remark; the city’s own pages read for this guide do not give a percentage (Note 25).
  • Historic designations the city names are the Old Southeast Hexagon Block Preservation District (an overlay district) and the Mirror Lake Local Historic District (Notes 22, 23).
Local rules

Who sets the rules in St. Petersburg?

The city issues its own permits, runs its own floodplain program and publishes its own historic-preservation and milestone-inspection pages.

  • The Charter Review Commission page says the Charter directs the city’s strong mayor form of government. The page does not give council size directly; it refers to “the eight Council Members and the Mayor” (Note 2).
  • The Construction Services and Permitting Division handles building permits. The city’s page links “Online Permits & Status,” appointment scheduling and electronic plan review. Pinellas County’s directory lists the city’s own office at One 4th Street N, (727) 893-7231, with zoning questions at (727) 893-7471. The pages read do not name a building official (Notes 4, 5).
  • The city’s Floodplain Management Ordinance, Section 3.4, defines substantial damage for the 49% rule. The city’s flood page lists a Floodplain Manager and links an Elevation Certificate form for elevation or floodproofing permits (Notes 6, 10).
  • The city’s storm-permitting page says you or your contractor must apply for a permit for all work to repair a storm-damaged home, even if you do the work yourself or use donated materials (Note 7).
  • The historic preservation page says the St. Petersburg Register of Historic Places is a local designation program administered by City staff, and that staff review proposed changes to locally designated properties. Of the Mirror Lake district, the city says permits for exterior modifications now require a Certificate of Appropriateness (Notes 22, 23).
  • The city’s planning-projects page lists a 2024-2025 Residential Land Development Regulations Update among four projects, with no status statement. Ask the city whether it affects a parcel (Note 24).

Rules and fees change; confirm with the city. The city’s short-term rental, seawall and dock pages, and its Downtown waterfront planning documents, could not be opened for this guide.

Due diligence

What should you check before buying in St. Petersburg?

Checks for a Pinellas County city with its own floodplain program and permitting division. Sourced where noted.
CheckWhy it matters hereSource
Flood zone, Stormwater Floodplain and elevation certificateCheck both layers the city publishes: the FEMA flood zone and the city’s Stormwater Floodplain, which the city says does not change the FEMA designation. The city says FEMA maps changed on August 24, 2021, and offers an Elevation Certificate form for elevation or floodproofing permits. Ask the seller for any elevation certificate; the county describes them as prepared by licensed surveyors as part of permit and insurance processesNotes 10, 11, 13, 16
Evacuation zoneThe city says evacuation zones are based on storm surge vulnerability. Pinellas County says flood zones are not the same as evacuation zones, and links two evacuation-zone lookups. Look up the parcel separately from its flood zoneNotes 9, 13
Substantial improvement and damage (49% rule)The city’s Floodplain Management Ordinance (Section 3.4) defines substantial damage as cumulative repair or improvement cost that “equals or exceeds” 49% of the structure’s pre-damaged market value; the city’s hurricane page says repairs that “exceed 49%” of pre-storm market value, and its storm-permitting page says “exceeding 49%”. The city estimates market value from the Property Appraiser’s tax assessment value of the structure and accepts an independent appraisal by a state-licensed appraiser completed within 12 months. No look-back period is stated. Ask the city for any determination and the Property Appraiser’s FEMA/WLM Letter. The Property Appraiser’s page is headed “Find My FEMA 50% or 49% Structure Valuation” and does not explain the two figures, so confirm which threshold appliesNotes 6, 7, 8, 9, 14
Permit history and open permitsThe city issues its own permits, so open and closed permits and inspections come from the city’s Construction Services and Permitting Division, not Pinellas County Building Services. The city’s online permit portal lists permit statusNotes 4, 5
Coastal construction control lineThe statute has the Florida Department of Environmental Protection establish lines county by county along the sand beaches of the state. Pinellas County publishes an interactive map of the line. This guide has not confirmed whether any St. Petersburg parcel is seaward of a line, so check the county map and DEP for the specific parcelNotes 20, 21
Docks and seawallsThe city’s building-permits and permitting pages read for this guide did not mention seawall or dock permits. Ask the city for permit history on any existing seawall or dock, and ask which city, county, state or federal approvals apply before relying on itNote 4
Short-term rental rulesThe city’s rental ordinance text was not opened for this guide, so no rule is stated here. Ask the city’s zoning office whether the parcel’s zoning allows rentals, and read any condominium or homeowners’ association restrictionsNote 5
Condominium milestone inspectionThe city’s page covers condominium and cooperative residential buildings of three or more stories: a Phase 1 inspection by December 31 of the year the building reaches 30 years, then every 10 years, with Phase 2 if substantial structural deterioration is found. Reports go to the city’s Construction Services and Permitting, not to Pinellas County, which does not list St. Petersburg. A July 16, 2024 news report described a 25-year program for some coastal buildings, while the city’s page states 30 years, so ask the city and the association which applies. Ask the association for inspection status and any Phase 2 reportNotes 17, 18, 19, 26
Local historic designationAsk the city whether a property is in the Old Southeast Hexagon Block Preservation District or the Mirror Lake Local Historic District, or on the St. Petersburg Register. The city says Mirror Lake permits for exterior modifications require a Certificate of Appropriateness. Confirm other districts with the city, since the pages read name only theseNotes 22, 23
Property records and property taxPull the parcel record from the Pinellas County Property Appraiser. The Property Appraiser’s site links its Millage Rates item to the Tax Collector’s site. No city millage rate is stated here because no city page with a fiscal year was openedNotes 14, 15

This is a checklist, not advice. Confirm each item with the city, the county and your attorney.

Comparison

How does St. Petersburg compare with nearby places?

How permitting and inspection arrangements differ from other Pinellas County places on this site. Sourced where noted.
CommunitySettingHow it differs
St. Pete BeachSeparate Pinellas County cityListed as its own entry in the county directory, at 155 Corey Hall, ZIP 33706, (727) 367-2735, with its own website. St. Petersburg’s entry is One 4th Street N, ZIP 33701, (727) 893-7231. Neither appears on the county’s milestone-inspection list (Notes 5, 18)
Indian Rocks BeachPinellas County cityPinellas County Building Services issues its permits, and the county accepts its milestone reports. St. Petersburg runs its own permitting and milestone program (Notes 5, 17, 18)
Belleair BeachPinellas County cityPinellas County Building Services issues its permits, and the county accepts its milestone reports. St. Petersburg does not use the county for either (Notes 5, 18)
Unincorporated Pinellas CountyCounty jurisdictionThe county’s substantial-damage page uses a 49% test (“49% or more of its value without the land”) and says county assessments cover unincorporated areas only; city residents are directed to their city. St. Petersburg states its own 49% rule (Notes 6, 12)
Working with ABODE

How does ABODE help in St. Petersburg?

ABODE’s Florida office is on West Bay Drive in Largo. We compare each St. Petersburg property with similar sales nearby, review flood, permit, historic and condominium documents with you, and keep conversations private. We represent both buyers and sellers.

Talk about buying   Talk about selling

Keep reading

St. Pete Beach

A Gulf-side barrier-island city with its own building department

Treasure Island

A Pinellas County city between Boca Ciega Bay and the Gulf of Mexico

Madeira Beach

A Gulf Coast barrier-island city with a historic John’s Pass Village and its own building department

Largo

A central Pinellas County city bordering Clearwater, Belleair and Seminole, with causeway access to the Gulf beaches

Pinellas County

County guide to permitting offices, homestead rules, flood and evacuation lookups, and condo inspections

Questions

St. Petersburg real estate: frequently asked questions

What is St. Petersburg, Florida?

St. Petersburg is a city in Pinellas County, Florida. It had 258,308 residents and 61.82 square miles of land at the 2020 Census (Note 1). The city’s Charter Review Commission page says its Charter directs a strong mayor form of government (Note 2).

Is St. Petersburg the same as St. Pete Beach?

No. Pinellas County’s building-department directory lists the two as separate entries with different addresses, phone numbers and websites, and the guide for St. Pete Beach is separate (Note 5). Confirm which city a property address is in before you look up permits, flood maps or rules.

Who issues building permits in St. Petersburg?

The city’s Construction Services and Permitting Division handles building permits, with an online permits and status portal (Note 4). Pinellas County’s directory lists the city’s own office and phone number (Note 5).

What is the 49% rule in St. Petersburg?

The city follows a 49% rule for properties in a Special Flood Hazard Area. Its ordinance wording is cumulative cost that equals or exceeds 49% of the structure’s pre-damaged market value, and its hurricane page says costs that exceed 49% (Notes 6, 9). The city estimates value from the Property Appraiser’s tax assessment of the structure (Note 6). Ask the city which wording applies to your project.

Is a St. Petersburg property in a flood zone or an evacuation zone?

It depends on the parcel. The city publishes FEMA flood zones, a separate Stormwater Floodplain and evacuation zones on its Prepare, St. Pete map (Notes 9, 10). Pinellas County says flood zones are not the same as evacuation zones (Note 13), so check each one for the specific address.

Does the milestone inspection rule apply to St. Petersburg condominiums?

The city’s page applies it to condominium and cooperative residential buildings of three or more stories, with a Phase 1 inspection by December 31 of the year a building reaches 30 years (Note 17). Pinellas County’s program page does not list St. Petersburg, so reports go to the city (Note 18). Florida law lets a local agency require 25 years where local conditions warrant (Note 19).

Are there local historic districts in St. Petersburg?

The city names the Old Southeast Hexagon Block Preservation District as its overlay district (Note 22). It established the Mirror Lake Local Historic District on December 12, 2024 and calls it its eleventh, and says exterior-modification permits there require a Certificate of Appropriateness (Note 23). Ask the city whether a specific property is designated.

Does ABODE International Realty work in St. Petersburg?

Yes. ABODE International Realty is a Florida-licensed brokerage with its office at 801 West Bay Drive, Suite 324, in Largo. ABODE represents buyers and sellers in St. Petersburg and compares each property with similar sales nearby.

Private consultation

Request a private St. Petersburg consultation

Please tell us what you are weighing. An ABODE advisor replies privately. We aim to reply within one business day.

Sources and notes

  1. U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts: St. Petersburg city, Florida. Source for the 2020 Census population (258,308), the July 1, 2025 population estimate (264,033, V2025) and 2020 land area (61.82 square miles). Checked October 9, 2026.
  2. City of St. Petersburg: City Charter Review Commission. Says the Charter directs the city’s strong mayor form of government and determines how many Council Members are elected, and refers in passing to “the eight Council Members and the Mayor.” The page does not state council size or terms outright. Checked October 9, 2026; confirm in the Charter.
  3. City of St. Petersburg: Mayor’s Office. Lists the Mayor’s cabinet, including a City Administrator. The page does not describe the form of government. Checked October 9, 2026.
  4. City of St. Petersburg: Building & Permitting. Names the Construction Services and Permitting Division, the “Online Permits & Status” link to its online permits portal, appointment scheduling and electronic plan review, and the Municipal Services Center at One 4th St. N. Does not mention seawall or dock permits or a building official. Checked October 9, 2026.
  5. Pinellas County: building departments in Pinellas County. Lists St. Petersburg (One 4th Street N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701, (727) 893-7231; zoning (727) 893-7471) and St. Pete Beach (155 Corey Hall, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706, (727) 367-2735) as separate entries, and names the places Pinellas County Building Services serves. Checked October 9, 2026.
  6. City of St. Petersburg: The 49% Rule. Quotes Floodplain Management Ordinance Section 3.4 (“equals or exceeds” 49% of pre-damaged market value). Market value is estimated from the Property Appraiser’s tax assessment value; an independent state-licensed appraisal completed within 12 months may be submitted. No look-back period or effective date is stated. Checked October 9, 2026.
  7. City of St. Petersburg: Permitting after a storm. Says the 49% rule prohibits repairs to a structure in the Special Flood Hazard Area exceeding 49% of its market value unless the structure is brought into compliance, and that permits are required for all storm repair work. Does not describe an appeal process. Checked October 9, 2026.
  8. City of St. Petersburg: Planning & Development Services letter on the 49% Rule (November 1, 2024). Letter to owners in the Special Flood Hazard Area quoting the ordinance definition and the independent-appraisal option. States no look-back period. Checked October 9, 2026.
  9. City of St. Petersburg: Hurricane Center. Source for the evacuation zone statements (“Much of St. Pete lies in evacuation zones”), the FEMA flood zone and Stormwater Floodplain descriptions, and the 49% wording (“exceed 49%”). Checked October 9, 2026.
  10. City of St. Petersburg: Flooding. Source for FEMA map effective date (August 24, 2021), the statement that many Stormwater Floodplain areas are not in FEMA floodplains, the Floodplain Manager listing and the Elevation Certificate form. The same text appears at https://www.stpete.org/flooding. Checked October 9, 2026.
  11. City of St. Petersburg: Stormwater Master Plan. Source for the flood modeling parameter, the statement that the Stormwater Floodplain does not change FEMA designation, and the earlier plan dating to 1994. Says the city has completed the current plan and is implementing projects. Checked October 9, 2026.
  12. Pinellas County: Substantial damage, substantial improvement and the 50% rule. The county page uses a 49% test for the county’s unincorporated areas and directs city residents to their city. Checked October 9, 2026.
  13. Pinellas County: flood information. States that flood zones are not the same as evacuation zones, links evacuation-zone lookups and describes elevation certificates. Checked October 9, 2026.
  14. Pinellas County Property Appraiser: Find my FEMA 50% or 49% structure valuation. Page headed “Find My FEMA 50% or 49% Structure Valuation.” Describes the FEMA/WLM Letter on a parcel’s detail page and says determinations use Just Value adjusted to approximate market value; it does not explain the 50% and 49% figures. Checked October 9, 2026.
  15. Pinellas County Property Appraiser. Parcel records for Pinellas County. The site’s Millage Rates link points to the Tax Collector’s website; the page does not state who sets millage. Checked October 9, 2026.
  16. FEMA Flood Map Service Center. Look up the flood zone for any address. Flood zone is parcel specific
  17. City of St. Petersburg: Milestone inspections. Covers condominium and cooperative residential buildings of three or more stories: Phase 1 by December 31 of the year a building reaches 30 years, then every 10 years; Phase 2 if substantial structural deterioration is found; reports go to Construction Services and Permitting. Names no building official. Checked October 9, 2026.
  18. Pinellas County: condo milestone inspections. Lists seven municipalities for which the county operates as building official (Belleair Beach, Belleair Bluffs, Belleair Shore, Indian Rocks Beach, Oldsmar, Safety Harbor, Kenneth City). St. Petersburg is not listed. Checked October 9, 2026.
  19. Florida Statutes, section 553.899 (milestone inspections). Buildings three habitable stories or more, subject in whole or in part to condominium or cooperative ownership: first inspection by December 31 of the year the building reaches 30 years, then every 10 years; a local enforcement agency may require 25 years where local circumstances such as proximity to salt water warrant. The law has been amended recently; confirm the current text. Checked October 9, 2026 (2026 edition).
  20. Florida Statutes, section 161.053 (Coastal construction control lines), and Florida DEP CCCL program. The department establishes coastal construction control lines on a county basis along the sand beaches of the state; once a line is filed, construction seaward of it is restricted except as the statute provides. The statute does not say whether a given parcel is seaward of a line; confirm with DEP. Checked October 9, 2026 (2026 edition).
  21. Pinellas County Flood Map Service Center: coastal construction control line. Interactive map for locating the control line in Pinellas County. The page does not list cities. Checked October 9, 2026.
  22. City of St. Petersburg: Historic Preservation. Names the Old Southeast Hexagon Block Preservation District as the one overlay district; describes the St. Petersburg Register of Historic Places and staff review through Certificates of Appropriateness. Does not list local historic district names or state a count. Checked October 9, 2026.
  23. City of St. Petersburg: Mirror Lake Local Historic District. Says City Council adopted Ordinance 135-HL on December 12, 2024 (5-2) after a Community Planning and Preservation Commission recommendation (5-0, November 12, 2024), calls it the eleventh local historic district, and says exterior-modification permits require a Certificate of Appropriateness. The historic preservation page above states no count. Checked October 9, 2026.
  24. City of St. Petersburg: Planning projects. Lists four projects, including the 2024-2025 Residential Land Development Regulations Update, without status statements. Checked October 9, 2026.
  25. St. Pete Catalyst: St. Pete works to minimize storm rebuilding confusion (November 7, 2024). News report (November 7, 2024); secondary source, used only for the roughly 75% Special Flood Hazard Area figure, which it attributes to the city’s floodplain manager. Checked October 9, 2026.
  26. St. Pete Catalyst: Hundreds of St. Pete condos face inspection deadline (July 16, 2024). News report; secondary source describing a 25-year program for some coastal buildings, which the city’s current page does not state. Checked October 9, 2026.
  27. ABODE local knowledge. Comparisons and plain-language descriptions reflect ABODE’s experience and are not statistics